I usually try to avoid crowds.  I went to this event for two reasons; First, I wanted to hear the symphony and see the fireworks, secondly I was in the mood for some people watching. Come on admit it, most of you enjoy watching people.  It can't be only me. 
Picture
I don't know what I was thinking. I kind of forgot that I am a hermit.  I got way more than I bargained for.

Ferreting out a few square feet of grass on which to plant myself was like stumbling across an easy chair in a forest.  
But when the deep vibration of the orchestra instruments floated through the air most people didn't care if there was someone dripping catchup on a corner of their blanket.
There were two solo pianists who were only 16 and 17 years old, Carter Johnson from Campbell River and I believe Eric Manning is from Victoria. Both are amazing musicians. 
The inner harbour is such a beautiful spot for these kind of events.  The lights on the government buildings were as pleasing to look at as were the fire works. As the crowds dispersed I was glad that I had chosen to take the bus.  It was a stress free way to get home at the end of a  crowded  but wonderful day in the city.   
Terry
8/13/2013 01:45:46 am

That looks like a great outing.

Reply



Leave a Reply.