ROCK MY WORLD!
Rocks.  Smooth, rough, sedentary, infinitely patient.  Their mood rolls over with the rotation of the earth. Cool, warm, hot, warm, cool, cold. The elements empty themselves upon them relentlessly.  Battered and baked, cracked and carved, they carry the marks of history. They've seen it all.  They do not complain. They tell a silent story.  Rocks have had an influence on me but I will never influence a rock.  If I dared to fashion myself after a rock, I would surely fail.    
Southern California's landscapes are so diverse.
I miss the colour green.
This is Borrego Springs.  I recommend this as a very safe and pleasant place to overnight.  It is difficult to find places to tent in California but so far every one I have found is clean and has washrooms and showers. This one has many water faucets throughout.  Happy. 
Then, a glimpse of horses! With a second hard look I discovered cres and acres of horses frozen in action....I mean baked in action.   
It's very hot on this parched but beautiful land. Even now in winter I sweat under my protective jacket and am tempted to ride in my shirt sleeves only.  I can't imagine living here through summer. You would have to carry gallons of emergency water. If you didn't the sun could suck you dry in 24 hours. You would look like a month old road kill without even having been flattened by a car.  
Andrew
1/5/2012 09:23:26 am

Nice place to camp. Where were the iron horses?

Reply
Chris
1/6/2012 02:03:26 pm

The iron horses were on HWY 78 just south of Barrego Springs.

Reply
Hilda
1/5/2012 11:37:58 am

Looks like a wonderful place to take a drive, but I can see how you would miss the green pretty soon!! Love you!!

Reply
Terry
1/5/2012 11:41:19 am

Green is lacking for sure. No place for humans in the summer. About the rocks ... were you paraphrasing Simon and Garfunkle?

Reply
Chris
1/6/2012 02:01:45 pm

Unlike Simon and Garfunkle I am not a rock and did I say anything about an island?

Reply
Savannah Bergeron(mikes daughter inlaw)
2/3/2012 12:52:38 am

So proud of you mike for doing what you've always wanted to! Not even a wee bit jealous of your experiences ;)
We love you and miss you a great deal! Have a blast!

Reply



Leave a Reply.