Wheels.  There are three mechanisms in my possession that enable me to get around on two wheels.  Victoria caters to people on two wheels. There is the Galloping goose which is the main bicycle trail that connects Victoria with both Sooke and Sydney.  Then there are the regional trails that string communities together like cobwebs.  The roads also have bicycle lanes.  There is a huge cycling community here.  Some use the trails to commute to work, some for exercise, others for training and then still others for sheer enjoyment. 
This is one of the many bridges that are part of the trail system and span the waterways of the southern island.
When you come to Victoria you really must bring a bike or rent one.  There are many scenic spots all around the city and beyond, where you can stop and enjoy the view.
Picture

......and watch other people having fun without any wheels at all.

While cycling is a lot of fun, it is also good exercise. It's the body movement that I need. But in the end I prefer the sound of my V-Star purring beneath me, carrying me further and faster than my legs ever could.  



Leave a Reply.