Sometimes you just have to take matters into your own hands.
Trusting the Weather network is like nailing jello to a tree.  OK, that is not my own saying, I got it from a sign I saw in Oatman.
Picture
But for me, raising teenagers was more like....ummm......nailing a chocolate bar to a tree.  And let.s say that chocolate bar is a Snickers.  Ya, that would be more like it.  Because I like Snickers and I like teenagers and they make me laugh. 

Where was I? Oh ya, the weather network. Yesterday was supposed to be the third day of my good weather window to make it home.  There was a wide variety of weather but very little sunshine. I had to beat the snow before it hit Crater Lake, but it rained on me for two hours,  
Rubber gloves are good for more than just washing dishes and toilets.  Over my leather gloves they keep my hands warm and dry. 
Because of my last experience in the sind tunnel east of Palm Springs, I was mortified to  now see another swath of windmills in the distance.  As I got closer I could see them all turning and I knew the wind was going to  bat me around again. 
My brother and his son, who are very professional with their photography have the most awesome photos of these monster windmills.  They are amazing machines.
After riding through one more rain storm that incidentally was worse than it looked from the distance Terry, I made it to Yakima and spent the night there. If the weather is good to me I should make it to Kamloops today.  I am very excited to see snickers...I mean my kids and grandkids who are all there right now.  Yippee!  That is enough to spur me on.  
RAT
4/17/2012 07:58:48 am

Safe journey home Chris. What an adventure you have been on!!! I really enjoyed your photos and comments. We arrived home from Venezuela on Sar ( 14th )

Reply
4/17/2012 11:45:37 am

Thank God that you have made it safely this far.

Reply
Andrew
4/17/2012 11:52:49 am

Now are you sure they are there? Last i heard Matt went to Mexico to look for his dear momma, and Sarah went to Red Deer to paint the town red...

Reply
Terry
4/18/2012 12:41:30 am

Here's hoping you don't have to trade in your bike for a snowmobile on the last leg of your trip.

Reply
Chris
4/18/2012 01:29:03 am

Thanks for all the well wishes everyone. I am in Kamloops at Sarah's place now. She's back from Red Deer. It was a cold day of travel yesterday. I'm so glad to be off my bike today in a warm house.

Reply
Stephanie
4/18/2012 05:52:50 am

Yay! You made it! Hug those cute kiddies for me :)




Leave a Reply.