It was quite coincidental that after I was packed up this morning, the radio was playing "Hit the Road Jack".  That's how it all began!
Behind me is the trailer that is hauling two Harleys back to Canada.  I was given the offer of hauling my bike back with them.  It was tempting but I said "no thank you".  I was teased about wanting the bragging rights of having ridden from Victoria to Cabo and back. HELLOOO.....WELL Of COURSE!  
About 30 minutes into my ride I had to stop and gear up.  It was cold with a 40 mph wind. On came the sweater, scarf, jacket, chaps, raincoat and pants.  Hard to believe that a few days ago we were riding sleeveless in a furnace of heat.  I got sand blasted and the wind blew up into my full face helmet lifting my visor!! There is a wind tunnel forested with windmills just west of Palm Springs. I have driven past it many times in the past but have never seen even half of them turning. Today all of them were spinning in the wind, quite a sight to see.  
 I had to quit riding early much to my chagrin, because I felt it wasn't safe to go on. Tomorrow the wind is supposed to be 15 mph.   
Do I really want to ride into........
THAT?!!!!!!!!    Help!  Which way did that toy hauler go?
Terry
4/14/2012 02:31:00 pm

That weather in the distance always looks bad until you drive right up to it. Then it is REALLY bad!
You've just been spoilt rotten cruising around in the Arizona sun too long. It is time to toughen up once again.
There is threatening weather over Tehachapi most of the time. Once you are through there and headed to Bakersfield it will settle down. Happy motoring!
But maybe you are going through Riverside? We have never driven through there without a downpour and heavy winds. You just may turn back. Hahaha.

Reply



Leave a Reply.