Picture



Although I love grapes and have even grown them, I have never been able to enjoy a glass of wine.  There are other beverages that please my palate more.  However, I have always been fascinated with vineyards and the process of making a good wine.  And that is why the sign in the driveway lured me in.

I did not ask why a rooster on their sign instead of a bundle of ripe grapes, nor did I tell the proper gentleman behind the wine tasting counter that much to my regret his delicate product tasted like turpentine on my tongue. That is not to say it was bad wine..... judging by how much wine he sold under my nose, the other guests thought it was excellent. 
Picture



Nevertheless, I did enjoy a stroll through the beautiful grape garden.  The grapes were not ready to sample. 

Picture
There was however, one product at Cherry Point Winery that I did enjoy.  Vancouver Island is populated with a Prickly web of blackberry vines and the winery takes advantage of this.  Local people pick the berries and sell them to the winery.

There it is converted into the tastiest after dinner sipping wine, Blackberry Port.
I learned something at Cherry Point.  If you don't enjoy wine, quit whining about it and sip a bit of prime Port.  
Rachel
8/18/2013 03:07:05 am

Blech...wine is nasty! But have you had sangria? Now that is YUM!

Reply
Terry
8/26/2013 02:04:31 am

I have discovered in the last few years that I am allergic to wine. It has not been a great hardship to avoid it.

Reply
Steph
8/30/2013 04:36:30 pm

I would LOVE to try that blackberry port! Mmmm.

Reply



Leave a Reply.