For those of you who like pictures over words, you may as well log off because you aren't getting any today.  My fingers are cold and stiff and my camera is in my bag outside.  Besides, there is only one sharing picture in it.  

I spent the night in Mojave and when I awoke the roads had been closed because of the strong winds.  I knew this because when I got to the highway to Bakersfield the road was blocked.   The sun was shining and if I was a man I could have peed in a westerly direction and not got wet.  Anyways, the advantage of a two wheeled vehicle is that it fits between the pylons.  I had the whole road to myself.  :-)
Speaking of roads, California is good at deeply gouging their roads between the lines and in the centre of the lanes.  I'm not sure why they do this but they were not thinking of Motorcycles when they did this.  Speaking of gouging, the gas prices decrease drastically as soon as you cross the state line into Oregon.  I love Oregon...when it isn't raining.  

I was 45 miles from Klamath Falls when I was stopped by a sherif.  He pointed out to me that my headlight was not working.  It was almost dark.  He told me I probably wouldn't make it to Klamath before dark, I replied that I would if I broke the speed limit.  So I mounted my sturdy steed and with throttle full speed ahead the police car turned into a black speck very quickly as I sped to Klamath at 90 to 100 mph. I asked God to either help me get to Klamath before dark or give me another option.  He thought about it for five minutes and then decided I was right, I needed my lights, and they came on. 

 I spent the night in Klamath Falls, trusting the weather network for another sunny day. I planned on riding to Oroville today.  BUT....the weather has a mind of it's own and I had to hurry to avoid the snow that was forecast now for  Crater Lake.  Instead of snow I got very cold rain flung around by the wind.  I am sitting in Bend now warming up with a cup of strong coffee.  I am tempted to spend the night here and try for tomorrow which is supposed to be nicer......but who can really know?  Keep posted for the next episode in "


Andrew
4/16/2012 05:23:33 am

You're going high country?.... The coast may have been warmer. Just saying.

Reply
chris
4/16/2012 07:54:37 am

And rainy. I looked it over very well for days before I left but still.....Yes, you are right.

Reply



Leave a Reply.