Picture
My first few weeks in the desert are filled with awe.  The sand and the rocks fascinate me. But after a time my eyes get thirsty for colour.  They strain for a drink of slicker yellow, blood red or cobalt blue. The town of Yuma also thirsts for a splash of colour.  Buildings blend with the wind blown dunes. Even my camera is bored with brown architecture.  She refuses to expose her eye to the colour drought of the city.      

But suddenly......SUDDENLY!  In the middle of nowhere I come across a colourful relief.  The desert artist  has become impatient with choices on her palette.  With miraculous mauve motions her brush creates mounds of happy desert flowers.  An involuntary sigh and again my eyes are satisfied, they rest in relief and my camera opens to expose their beauty to her inner eye.     
terry
12/18/2012 10:31:18 am

That's the way I feel here in winter. I leave my camera in its warm dry bag until there is colour again in the spring time.

Reply
Elsie thiessen
12/23/2012 10:25:19 am

I love your site
Have a wonderful christmas
Hope to see you in2013

Reply



Leave a Reply.