I love living on an island. This piece of ground I am parked on is enveloped with fresh ocean air and covered with an umbrella of diverse skies. No matter where I go the discovery of each unique shoreline fascinates me.  Rocks, sand and sea fill me with a sense of well being.  I can ride in four different directions and find all three.
Picture
And threading it's way between both shores,  rivers search for  lakes to pour themselves into. The deep clear pools invite you to strip off your gear and rinse the heat from your body. 

When I arrived at Point Green on the west side of the island near Tofino, they told me I could not register or set up my tent because a wolf had been sited in the park.  It took an hour for them to decide what to do about it.  Wolves have been roaming the area since before we have but now with the depletion of the deer caused by tree growth and a lack of underbrush, the wolves have changed their diet. They seem to be enjoying their brothers, the domesticated variety, and I don't mean just for play.  
Picture



The parking lot seemed like a good place to set up my little coffee pot. A construction site provided a table for my primus stove and pots.

The whole process of finding the wolf and either hazing him out of the campsite, or killing him if need be, took so long that an exploration of Tofino seemed in order.
And a delicious bite of fresh Halibut stuffed with crab at a recommended restaurant, which I will also recommend to you.   
The wolf was never seen again and I think his poor stomach was not as full as mine.., but  for him it was a good day to keep living. You go wolf-girl!
Terry
8/2/2013 02:56:57 pm

Simply heavenly, all but the wolf.

Reply



Leave a Reply.